Kaki King Talks Back

Kaki King plays the harp guitar. Photo by Kristen Evans

Mother Jones

Kaki King has been playing music for so long, she can’t even say when she started: “I don’t remember a time that I didn’t know how to play the guitar,” she says. The Atlanta-born 31-year-old was up on stage at an early age, playing music in primary school, drumming her way through adolescence, scoring gigs before she got her drivers license, and producing her first album at 23.

But where music comes naturally, all the publicity can be odd, King says. “I’m constantly in this world of I’d Rather Not: I’d rather not answer the same question over and over so my whole life and emotions can be put in a little paragraph that you can edit. I get why people want to come see me play guitar, but I still don’t understand why people want to interview me.”

Read the full interview.

Leave a comment

Filed under Arts & Culture

Comments are closed.